Tree Settings

We had a couple of queries from users over the weekend, one of whom was concerned about when their tree is shared in the future how could they hide living people and one who wanted to change the title of their family tree from the default one. I thought it would be helpful to address both these issues publicly for the benefit of everyone else using the tree, and also highlight the other options on the tree settings page.

After a tree has been created, you can edit the settings at any time in the future. To access the settings page, click on the cog icon in the upper right corner of the tree.

tree settings icon

This will open up the Tree SettingsĀ page.

tree settings page

There are a number of fields on this page, and more to come in the future. For the moment we’re keeping it simple.

In the header it will tell you which tree you are editing, and indicate how many people are in this tree. If this doesn’t look right, go back to the tree list and make sure you are in the right tree (if you have more than one).

Next, you’ll see the home person. You must identify one person in you tree as the home person. Note, this is not necessarily you, but is the default person to which the tree will open if you haven’t viewed anyone before. Note that after you start using you’re tree, the tree will always open at the person you viewed last. This is to save you having to start from the home person every time and navigating through the tree back to the last place you were working. However, once you are in the tree and working, you can navigate quickly back to the home person by clicking on the home icon.

person selector

The home person field uses the standard person selector you will become familiar with while using the tree. After you type 3 or more characters it searches the list of all people in your tree to find the right one. It is worth mentioning at this point the selector will also accept year values to narrow the search, see example below.

person selector 2

Remember to either hit return or select the right person from the list shown.

The next field is titled “You”. It is not mandatory, but it helps us make messaging more personal and better at identifying your direct relatives. It also uses the person selector.

The “Name this tree” field is also required. By default when you create your tree, it will set the title to the surname of the first person to be created followed by the words “Family Tree”, so in my case it set it to “Moir Family Tree”. This can be altered to whatever you like as long as it is 100 characters or less. Just type your title choice in this field.

The next two check boxes seem to have caused a few people confusion. Partly as they seem to have no purpose yet, but they will do when searching and sharing trees becomes available shortly.

living public

The tooltip for “Show living” states “This setting allows others to view details about living relatives in your tree. You should only share this information with known family members”. When sharing trees becomes available, this is the default option to apply to your tree whether or not it is public or non-public. So if you tick the “Show living” box, it means that any person who can view your tree will be able to see the details for living and deceased persons. My recommendation is by default to leave this unticked, so that living people are displayed with the name “Hidden” on all screens.

Please note, across the new tree UI, you have the option to set various elements such as Fact and Events and Notes to Private. These will never be shown to anyone with read-only shared access to your tree, whether or not the person is living or dead. This gives you much greater control in keeping things hidden, especially in the case of relatives who may have died young and a lot of siblings are still alive.

Additionally, and again once sharing becomes available, the intention is to let you choose on a user by user basis, who can see living persons. So again my recommendation would be to leave the Show living unticked on the tree settings page, but you can then override this if you share your tree with a close family member.

The tooltip for “Public tree” states “Public trees allow you to connect easily with others who share your research interests and ancestry”. A public tree is one that lets user’s view your tree without requiring your explicit permission. A non-public tree (when left unticked) means a user can still search for matches against your tree, but once a potential match is found using a basic name, birth/death dates and location, they will have to ask for your permission to see your tree in full.

The final option on this page (as shown in the image at the top of this page), let’s you have your tree displayed with surnames capitalised. I know some people type surnames in capitals in the first place, and unfortunately this option will make absolutely no difference to those trees, but for those who type surnames using normal capitalisation (i.e. McCormack), you have the option now to switch between displayed formats. See below for example of pedigree after Capitalise surnames has been ticked and changes saved.

proper case

I hope this article is found to be helpful. Remember to hit Save after making any changes.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Tree Settings

  1. Pingback: Navigation Revised | In The Green

  2. The views are: – There may be another aspect that you may have overlooked in this field which I find useful in my own use programme. This gives a defined view in much the same way as the other aspects but without the clutter. For a sample you need to contact me for I am unable to show it here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s