Deleting a tree

We’ve had quite a few requests from members to delete their trees. I thought I’d make this quick post to explain how simple and easy this action is on the new findmypast family tree.

After logging into findmypast, hover over the My Family Tree menu option, and then click on the View all trees sub menu.

findmypast tree menu

This takes you into the Family Tree portion of the application, and displays a list of all the trees that you have access to.

tree list

At the right hand side of the row for each listed tree are the function buttons. The first is for the tree settings, while the second icon, a bin, is for the tree deletion.

If you want to remove a tree, click on this icon. You will see a confirmation request as follows, so you do have the option to back out if you have clicked delete in error.

delete tree confirm dialog

If you are sure you want to delete your tree, then click Delete to confirm. Please note there is NO restore after you have confirmed the deletion, so please make sure you use this function with caution.

And that’s it. Tree gone.

tree list after deletion

I hope this helps.

Phil

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Deleting a tree

  1. For you to highlight this action of those wanting to delete there trees. Is this action what you would expect on a general basis or is it due to the alterations that you are putting in place.

  2. I am highlighting it because it’s more important for tree owners to take the action themselves than to call customer support to do it. It’s quite often occurring when a member uploads a new tree and wants to remove their old one. I am just pointing out how easy it is to do.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s